Skip to content
CarrierPedia

Howell's Motor Freight INC — USDOT 84329 Carrier Profile

MC 116886 · AAuthority: ActiveHazmat

CLOVERDALE, VA 24077-3131 · Data last refreshed August 30, 2026

Fleet Summary

1
Power units
larger than 11% of active US carriers
1
Drivers
52.2
Years active
5,073,833
Annual miles (MCS-150)
—
Operating radius

Safety Snapshot

Unsafe DrivingCarrierPedia estimate82th percentile
CarrierPedia-computed percentile (ranked against other active carriers in our database) — FMCSA does not publish an official percentile for property carriers, only the underlying measure and alert flag.
Hours-of-Service ComplianceCarrierPedia estimate82th percentile
CarrierPedia-computed percentile (ranked against other active carriers in our database) — FMCSA does not publish an official percentile for property carriers, only the underlying measure and alert flag.
Driver FitnessCarrierPedia estimate86th percentile
CarrierPedia-computed percentile (ranked against other active carriers in our database) — FMCSA does not publish an official percentile for property carriers, only the underlying measure and alert flag.
Controlled Substances/AlcoholCarrierPedia estimate0th percentile
CarrierPedia-computed percentile (ranked against other active carriers in our database) — FMCSA does not publish an official percentile for property carriers, only the underlying measure and alert flag.
Vehicle MaintenanceCarrierPedia estimate77th percentile
CarrierPedia-computed percentile (ranked against other active carriers in our database) — FMCSA does not publish an official percentile for property carriers, only the underlying measure and alert flag.

Inspections & Out-of-Service

80
Inspections, last 24 months

Driver out-of-service rate 1.3% — the national median across carriers with at least 5 inspections is 0.0%.

9
Out-of-service inspections, last 24 months

Vehicle out-of-service rate 10.0% — the national median across carriers with at least 5 inspections is 14.3%.

Crash History

DateLocationFatalitiesInjuriesTow-awayWeatherRoad surface
2026-04-12Not Reported, VA00Yes11
2025-12-16Not Reported, VA02Yes11
2025-11-19Not Reported, VA01Yes11
2025-10-24NEWBERRY, SC00Yes11
2025-08-19THOMASVILLE, NC01Yes11
2025-02-13HAMPTON CITY, VA00Yes11
2024-08-13VA01Yes11
2024-08-09CAYCE, SC01Yes11
2024-06-25MOUNT PLEASANT, SC00Yes11
2023-11-02NEWPORT NEWS CITY, VA00Yes11
2023-09-08HARRISONBURG CITY, VA00Yes11
2023-08-22VA01Yes11
2023-03-13NORFOLK, VA00Yes22
2022-12-21CHESAPEAKE, VA00Yes11
2022-08-03SALISBURY, NC00Yes11
2022-06-20UNINCORPORATED, GA00Yes11
2022-05-19VA01Yes11
2022-03-31GA00Yes81
2021-07-30VA01Yes11
2021-07-27ROANOKE RAPIDS, NC00Yes11
2021-06-14PETERSBURG CITY, VA00Yes11
2021-03-26SUFFOLK, VA01Yes11
2021-02-12CHARLOTTE, NC00Yes12
2020-10-26UNINCORPORATED, GA01Yes81
2020-06-05VA00Yes22

These records report that a commercial vehicle registered to this carrier was involved in a crash meeting FMCSA's reporting threshold. The FMCSA Crash File does not assign fault and does not determine preventability: a crash caused entirely by another road user appears here on the same terms as one caused by this carrier's driver. See how FMCSA crash reporting works for what these records do and do not establish.

Operating Authority & Insurance

Authority status
Active
MC number
116886
Insurance on file
Yes
Insurer
ACUITY, A MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY
Coverage amount
$1,000,000
Effective date
August 1, 2026
BIPD coverage
On file

Cargo & Operation

Classification: AUTHORIZED FOR HIRE. Authorized to transport hazardous materials.

General FreightRefrigerated Food

Similar Carriers

CarrierPower unitsVehicle OOS rateCrashes / 100 units
Apergis Transportation10.0%0.0
M & N Transport LLC10.0%100.0
Sidhu Transport LLC125.0%0.0
Cuba Truck Company LLC10.0%0.0
J & M Transport1100.0%0.0
Empire Motors LLC137.5%0.0
Touch Point Trucking LLC125.0%0.0
Tnt So Trucking INC10.0%0.0

Data & Sources

Registration, fleet, and cargo data from the FMCSA Company Census File. Crash history from the FMCSA Crash File. Inspection and out-of-service data from the FMCSA Vehicle Inspection File. Safety percentiles from the FMCSA Safety Measurement System. Operating authority and insurance from FMCSA Motus (Licensing & Insurance). See Data Sources for refresh cadence and dataset IDs. Data on this page last refreshed August 30, 2026.

See something that looks wrong? Read Data Corrections or email data@carrierpedia.com. We respond to correction requests within five business days.

CarrierPedia is not a consumer reporting agency and this profile is not a consumer report under the Fair Credit Reporting Act. It may not be used to determine eligibility for employment, credit, insurance, housing, or any other FCRA-covered purpose. Publication of this profile is not a statement about this carrier's safety, fitness, or creditworthiness — see Terms of Use.